跳至内容

KDE Plasma 25周年纪念版

25 年的创新和坚守

Plasma - 25 周年纪念版为这款自由开源桌面环境带来了全新外观、功能和增强。

2021年 十月 14 日 星期四

empty laptop with an overlay
Plasma

2021年 十月 14 日 星期四

25 年前的今天,Matthias Ettrich 向 de.comp.os.linux.misc 新闻组发送了一封电子邮件,介绍了他正在开展的 KDE 项目。这封电子邮件成了 KDE 社区 25 年来创新进取,持续坚守的开端。

在 KDE Plasma 25 周年纪念版中,Plasma 更新了外观,包括一张全新壁纸、一套配色清新的主题 Breeze - Blue Ocean (微风蓝海)。新主题不但让 KDE 应用程序和工具更加赏心悦目,而且在桌面、手机和平板等各种环境中更加易用。

当然,Plasma 25 周年纪念版的变化不会流于表面——它还带来了更快的响应速度、更好的稳定性、更完善的功能。配套的应用启动程序、软件管理程序、Wayland 支持的实现以及其他 Plasma 工具程序也得到了全面提升。

下面让我们来介绍一下 Plasma 25 周年纪念版值得一提的各个方面:

精美外观

启动 Plasma 25 周年纪念版后,映入眼帘的首先是一张设计精美的全新壁纸,然后就是经过重新设计的默认主题——Breeze Blue Ocean (微风蓝海)。新主题不但使得视觉效果更加美观,还让界面传达的清晰更加清晰易读。对话框窗口会在它获取焦点时亮起,勾选框在选中后显示勾子,单选框会在选中时亮起。滚动条和数值框的可操作部分更宽,在触屏环境下使用体验更好,且依然能在桌面、笔记本模式下保持自然的视觉效果。

除此之外,我们还为 Plasma 桌面环境带来了更多赏心悦目的细节。例如在启动应用程序或等待进程结束时,系统将显示旋转齿轮特效;桌面小部件现在能显示模糊背景,且在被拖动到面板附近时会显示高亮特效。

所有这些细节增强不仅让桌面更加美观,而且能以低调的方式为用户提供操作反馈,提示活动元素的位置和它们的交互方式。

系统设置

既然我们要介绍 Plasma 的新外观,那就不能不提系统设置对话框中的全新功能了。现在你可以在全局主题 > 颜色页面自定义配色方案的重点色。重点色是下拉菜单和列表中对项目进行高亮显示时的颜色,它还用于选中图标的背景色、进度条的已完成部分颜色、勾选框和单选框的背景色等。

覆盖配色方案的重点色

如果你不喜欢 Plasma 默认的淡蓝色配色方案,你也可以在重点色列表中选择你心仪的一种颜色。你也可以选择“继承自当前配色方案”,让重点色与全局主题的内建配色保持一致。

为了防止更改屏幕分辨率之后导致无法显示的情况,我们现在为系统设置 > 显卡与显示器 > 显示器配置页面加入了倒数功能。在选择新的分辨率并点击“应用”按钮后,程序将倒数 30 秒。在此期间你可以点击“保持”按钮确认更改,否则 (例如你的显示器无法显示了) 将在倒数结束后返回之前的分辨率。

为了确保系统的正常运作和信息安全,我们会在你做出某些会分享数据的操作时进行提醒。例如:夜间颜色功能可以通过地理位置信息来同步控制屏幕的色温,在启用此功能时,系统将提示它将使用何种第三方服务来确定你所在地区的日出日落时间。同样的,用户反馈页面会显示你选择向 KDE 发送的数据历史,此功能默认关闭,你必须手动设置后数据才会从你的电脑上被发送出去。

你现在可以指定蓝牙适配器在登录时的启用状态,包括:启用、禁用、记住上一次的状态。

Plasma 的选项众多,找到所需的选项曾经是一个难题。现在我们为系统设置对话框加入了搜索框,你可以输入某个关键词,它便会自动筛选显示所有相关的选项。

开始菜单

Kickoff 是 Plasma 的开始菜单程序,它在最近几次 Plasma 更新中一直在不断改进,这一次我们也对它的大量代码进行了重写,让它的响应更加敏捷,布局更加易用。

我们还为开始菜单新增了一些选项。点击开始菜单右上角的图钉按钮即可将它保持在打开状态。点击图钉按钮旁边的配置按钮,还可以设置应用的显示方式为列表还是网格,指定电源、会话操作的显示风格等。

我们还改进了开始菜单的触摸屏支持。单指按住开始菜单中的项目不放,它会显示右键菜单。

系统托盘

当前已连接网络的详细信息

系统托盘显示了各种有用的消息和选项,包括通知、音量控制、网络状态等。它是 Plasma 桌面环境的重要组成部分,我们改进了它的易用性和显示的组件类型。

系统托盘中的剪贴板组件也得到了改进,它现在默认记忆 20 条内容,而且会忽略那些仅被选中的内容,让你在剪贴板列表中选择更多有意义的内容。你可以在点开剪贴板列表时按 Del 键快速删除选中的内容。你还可以通过 Ctrl + C 快捷键复制通知消息的文字内容。

媒体播放器小程序

音量调整组件现在可以区分不同应用程序的播放、录音音量,媒体播放器组件可以显示当前曲目的专辑封面和模糊背景。电量和亮度组件现在可以切换节能、平衡和性能三种电源方案。

网络组件现在可以显示当前已连接网络的更多详细信息,还可以手动设置有线以太网的链接速度。该组件还支持 OpenVPN 链接的额外身份认证设置、协议和其他需求,并允许你禁用 IPv6。

Wayland

KDE 社区正在全力促成 Plasma 在 Wayland 下面完全工作。Wayland 是一款新型的显示协议,它让 Plasma 开发人员可以为桌面环境带来更多的功能、更快的速度、更好的稳定性,并为触摸屏设备的提供更好的支持。

在这一版中,光标可以在启动应用时显示动画图标反馈,我们还为手机、平板、变形本等移动设备新增了屏幕旋转动效。在 Wayland 下面启动平板模式时,系统托盘的图标会放大,方便触摸屏操作。系统托盘还会在有程序进行录屏时发出提示,并提供取消按钮。

在我们实现桌面环境和应用程序的完整支持 Wayland 的同时,我们还支持该协议的 XWayland 中间协议。在 Plasma 25 周年纪念版中,你可以使用中间键在原生 Wayland 程序和 XWayland 程序之间进行粘贴、拖放操作。

其他更新

  • Plasma 的应用程序中心 Discover 现在的加载速度更快,而且提供的信息更加透明。它会告诉你点击安装按钮时软件包的来源,无需你自行阅读软件描述。
  • 对于多屏幕用户而言,X11 和 Wayland 会话之间将保持多屏幕布局设置一致。
  • 如果程序发生错误,崩溃反馈程序 DrKonqi 将在该程序不再有人维护时发出警告。
  • 为了减少窗口的不必要按钮,对话框和系统设置标题栏的“?”按钮已被默认隐藏。
  • 未设置自动登录的无密码账号将显示登录按钮,不再显示密码输入框。
  • 除此之外,我们还改进了 Plasma 桌面环境的整体稳定性,修复了多个会造成系统崩溃和卡死的程序缺陷。

…此版的变动还不止如此。如果您想要查看完整的更改列表,请访问Plasma 25 周年纪念版的更改日志

支持 KDE

KDE 是一个自由软件社区,它的存续和成长有赖于众多志愿者长年累月的不懈努力。KDE 欢迎新的志愿者加入社区,也欢迎其他类型的贡献,包括代码、程序缺陷报告和修复、撰写文档、翻译、推广、资金支持等。 我们将欣然接受并衷心感谢所有这些支持。请在支持 KDE页面了解更多相关信息。您也可以通过我们的加入游戏计划成为一位 KDE e.V. 支持会员。

关于 KDE

KDE 是一支国际技术团队,它的使命是为桌面和便携式计算机编写自由开源软件。KDE 的产品包括适用于 Linux 和 UNIX 平台的新型桌面系统、功能齐全的办公生产力套件和团队协作软件、以及涵盖了网络、多媒体、娱乐、教育、图像处理和软件开发等众多领域的数百款应用软件。KDE 软件被翻译成 60 多种语言,以易用性和无障碍访问为前提精心构建。KDE 的全功能应用程序在 Linux、BSD、Windows和 macOS 系统中能够以原生状态运行。


商标声明。

KDE® 和 K 桌面环境® 徽标是KDE e.V. 的注册商标。
Linux 是 Linus Torvalds 的注册商标。 UNIX 是 The Open Group 在美国和其他国家的注册商标。
本公告中提到的所有其他商标和版权物均为其所有者的财产。


媒体联系方式

欲了解更多信息,请向我们发送电子邮件: press@kde.org

Skip to content

Plasma - 25th Anniversary Edition

25 Years of Awesomness

Plasma - 25th Anniversary Edition brings new looks, features and enhancements to the classic free desktop.

Thursday, 14 October 2021

empty laptop with an overlay
Plasma

Thursday, 14 October 2021

25 years ago today, Matthias Ettrich sent an email to the de.comp.os.linux.misc newsgroup explaining a project he was working on. The latest and direct result of that email (plus a quarter of a century of relentless experimentation, development and innovation) has just landed in KDE’s repositories.

This time around, Plasma renews its looks and, not only do you get a new wallpaper, but also a gust of fresh air from an updated theme: Breeze - Blue Ocean. The new Breeze theme makes KDE apps and tools not only more attractive, but also easier to use both on the desktop and your phone and tablet.

Of course, looks are not the only you can expect from Plasma 25AE: extra speed, increased reliability and new features have also found their way into the app launcher, the software manager, the Wayland implementation, and most other Plasma tools and utilities.

Read on to find out all the details that make the new Plasma 25AE so deserving of a celebration:

Looks

Apart from the new wallpaper, the first thing you will notice is the new theme. Breeze — Blue Ocean improves the look of Plasma and also makes clearer what they are for. Active elements in a dialog window, for example, “light up” when the window gets focus, checkboxes show actual ticks and radio buttons switch on like bulbs. Scrollbars and spinboxes are bigger, making them more accessible and easier to use with touchscreens, but have been re-designed in such a way as to still look elegant on desktop and laptop machines.

Among other things, a few more details serve to add glossiness and style to the desktop. For example, when starting an app or waiting for a process to complete, you will see a spinning gear until the task finishes; and desktop widgets now have a blurred background and get a highlight effect when you move them close to the panel.

Subtle details like these, not only enhance the look of the desktop, but also give you nearly subliminal feedback, hinting at what is active and what is not and how the different elements on the Plasma desktop will interact with you and each other.

System Settings

… And, as long as we are talking about Plasma’s new look, we must talk about the new stuff in System Settings. Under Global Theme > Colors you’ll find a new option that lets you pick the desktops accent colors. Accent colors are the colors of highlighted items on drop-down menus and lists, backgrounds of the icons of selected apps in the panel, the actual bars in progress bars, the backgrounds of checkboxes and radio buttons, and so on.

override a color scheme's accent color

Now say that, instead of the cool blue of Plasma’s default color scheme, you are feeling fabulous and want a hot pink for all those things: that is actually the first choice in the list. Or maybe you want like a certain chameleon-based distro and an intense green is your thing? You can do that too. To make sure your colors match those of the overall theme, just click on the From current color scheme and things will go back to what they were.

Talking of walking stuff back, changing the monitor resolution can lead to an unusable desktop. That’s why now you get a countdown: under System Settings > Display and Monitor > Display Configuration , once you pick a resolution and press the Apply button, a dialog window with the countdown will pop up. If after 30 seconds you haven’t clicked the Keep button (say, because your desktop has become inaccessible) the system will revert to the original, safe resolution. And this is just one of the ways of protecting you against accidental configuration mishaps.

Because keeping your system operational and safe is one of our main concerns. That is why we always advise you when you are going to share data you may not be aware of. Take, for example, Night Color: one of the things you can do is use geolocation to synchronize the color temperature of your screen with the periods of day and night of where you live. The Night Color page in your System Settings will tell you when sharing your location with a third party’s service that provides the times of sunrise and sundown in your area, and will also tell you who said the third party is. Likewise, the Feedback page now will show you a history of data that you have chosen to send to KDE. Note that Feedback will always be set to off by default. You have to explicitly and consciously switch it on before any data leaves your machine.

Another thing you will want to keep an eye on is your Bluetooth adapter. That is why you can set its status on login. Your options are Enable Bluetooth, Disable Bluetooth and Remember previous status.

If finding all the options you need seems daunting, don’t fear! We have made things easier by adding many keywords to improve searches. Just type in what you are looking for in the Search box and System Settings will provide you with all the related options.

Kickoff

Of course, once you are done configuring, you will actually want to reach your apps. You can do that through Kickoff, the application launcher that, in a default Plasma layout, lives in the bottom left-hand corner of your screen. Kickoff was already given a massive overhaul a few versions ago, but again we have rewritten large parts of the code to make it faster and easier to use.

And we added new options, of course. For example, now you can make Kickoff stay open on the screen with the new pin button located in the upper right-hand corner. By clicking on the Configure Application Launcher button to the left of the pin, you can choose whether to use a list or a grid for the apps views and configure the power/session action buttons.

We have also made Kickoff more touch friendly and, if you press-and-hold with a finger on the touchscreen, Kickoff’s context menu will pop open.

System Tray

details about the currently-connected network

You will find the System Tray, on a default Plasma desktop layout, on the right-hand side of the bottom panel bar. The System Tray is important because it contains things you would typically want to keep an eye on, like notifications, the sound volume, the network status, etc. As the System Tray is a vital and (literally) iconic part of the Plasma desktop for many users, care has been taken to improve its usability and that of the widgets it contains.

One widget you can access is the Clipboard, the place stuff you copy goes and where applications get the things when you paste them somewhere else. The Clipboard has been improved in several ways, for example, it now remembers 20 items by default and ignores selections that you did not explicitly copy. This gives you more to pick from when copying, while at the same time decluttering the list by removing snippets you may have accidentally or absentmindedly highlighted while working with Plasma. To further help you keep things tidy, you can also remove selected items from the clipboard’s popup by pressing the [Delete] key on the keyboard. Talking of copying and pasting, you can now easily copy text from notifications with the Ctrl + C keyboard shortcut.

Media Player Applet

A new thing in the Audio Volume applet is that it now distinguishes between applications that are currently playing or recording audio and the Media Player widget always displays the album art and its blurred background at the same time of any song that is playing. We also added an easy way to switch power profiles from the Battery and Brightness widget. You can choose between “power-saver”, “balanced” and “performance”.

As for the network widget, Plasma now shows more details about the currently-connected network, and you can fine-tune the manual speed setting for wired Ethernet connections. The applet also supports additional authentication settings/protocols/requirements for OpenVPN connections and allows you to disable IPv6.

Wayland

Making Plasma fully functional under Wayland is a priority for the KDE Community. Wayland is a protocol that will allow Plasma developers to do much more for the desktop, improving performance, increasing stability and implementing features, such as those required by devices with touchscreens.

In this release, the cursor now shows animated icon feedback when launching apps and we added a new screen rotation animation for mobile devices, such as phones, tablets and hybrid laptop/tablet computers. On a related note, entering tablet mode in Wayland increases the size of System Tray icons, making them easier to tap on a touchscreen. The System Tray will also notify you when something is recording the screen and will let you cancel it.

While we reach full Wayland support for the desktop and applications, we also support the XWayland intermediate protocol and, in Plasma 25th AE, you can now use a middle-click to paste, and drag-and-drop stuff between native Wayland and XWayland apps.

Other Updates

  • Discover, Plasma’s app center, now loads faster and is more transparent, as it tells you where you are installing your programs from directly in the install button, without you needing to read the full description.
  • If you have more than one monitor, you are in luck, as multi-screen layouts are now retained across X11 and Wayland sessions.
  • If something does go wrong, DrKonqi, the application that lets you easily send us feedback, now warns you when an app is unmaintained.
  • In an effort to further declutter windows from unnecessary buttons, the question mark button in the titlebar is hidden by default on dialogs and System Settings.
  • While still on the topic of removing unhelpful components, passwordless accounts without autologin now show a simple login button and no text field for a password, because why would they?
  • And, as always, we have improved the overall stability by hunting down even the most elusive bugs that could crash or hang your system.

… And there’s much more going on. If you would like to see the full list of changes, check out the changelog for Plasma - 25th Anniversary Edition.

Package Downloads

Distributions have created, or are in the process of creating, packages listed on our wiki page.

Package download wiki page

Supporting KDE

KDE is a Free Software community that exists and grows only because of the help of many volunteers that donate their time and effort. KDE is always looking for new volunteers and contributions, whether it is help with coding, bug fixing or reporting, writing documentation, translations, promotion, money, etc. All contributions are gratefully appreciated and eagerly accepted. Please read through the Supporting KDE page for further information or become a KDE e.V. supporting member through our Join the Game initiative.

About KDE

KDE is an international technology team that creates free and open source software for desktop and portable computing. Among KDE's products are a modern desktop system for Linux and UNIX platforms, comprehensive office productivity and groupware suites and hundreds of software titles in many categories including Internet and web applications, multimedia, entertainment, educational, graphics and software development. KDE software is translated into more than 60 languages and is built with ease of use and modern accessibility principles in mind. KDE's full-featured applications run natively on Linux, BSD, Windows and macOS.


Trademark Notices.

KDE® and the K Desktop Environment® logo are registered trademarks of KDE e.V..
Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds. UNIX is a registered trademark of The Open Group in the United States and other countries.
All other trademarks and copyrights referred to in this announcement are the property of their respective owners.


Press Contacts

For more information send us an email: press@kde.org